Face Masks: Just some Thoughts

So I never really thought I would be writing a post on face masks, but here it is. Also sorry about the title; I did not know what to call this. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts that I have had lately. You may agree or disagree, but most generally I just try to share my thoughts to help others understand one another and to maybe offer a different perspective.

I truly believe sharing ones thoughts needs to be done in a loving thoughtful way; which I honestly think is rarely done. I think we should be more gracious to everyone regardless of their thoughts and listen to them; that goes for both sides of the issue which again seems silly to me that this has also become a two sided issue and one that is political. Almost every post on masks I see feels rude and shaming on either side. I truly believe with almost any issue there is a middle ground and hopefully you will see that throughout the rest of my post.

So again these are just some of my thoughts regarding masks and what I have seen.

If people are not a fan of or against masks it seems like it’s too the extreme. Refusing to wear them if asked, even if it’s just for a few minutes. Acting like people who wear masks are just stupid followers of the government and by agreeing to wear masks they are giving away all their rights.

If people are for wearing masks most every post I see makes those who don’t feel comfortable wearing them or don’t want to wear them seem like selfish and unloving people that only care about themselves and not about others. Honestly that is something I struggle with as I didn’t wear a mask for a while which I will share why in a second. Honestly a few weeks ago is when I started wearing a mask. But I try my best to be loving every day and think about others; I wouldn’t consider myself a selfish or unloving person. So honestly those post sometimes bothered me and they still do.

If I see someone not wearing a mask my immediate thought is not that they are selfish or unloving. Now there have been some videos and posts I have seen that I would think that about some people by how they were acting when asked to put a mask on, but in general that is not my first thought nor do I think it should be when someone is not wearing a mask.

Now I didn’t wear a mask at first, but I always said if it was required I would wear one. If someone asked me I would put one on. So in those regards I think it is the right thing to do and the loving thing to do in those situations. Do I think I am allowing the government to control me by wearing one…no.

I didn’t wear a mask at first because I didn’t believe they helped as much as people think they do. I honestly think they still don’t help as much as we wish they did, but I do believe now that they do help some.

I truly believe there are some situations where they make more since than others. If there is an event or environment where people are sitting in close proximity to one another yes I think it’s beneficial.

However, the biggest issue seems to come from stores and honestly I don’t think that is a place where they are very beneficial and I will tell you why. When we go to the store we still usually only have one of us go; I know not everyone does that. But when I go in there isn’t anyone I am talking to since I am by myself so yes I know some droplets can leave my mouth and nose from just breathing, but the majority is through speaking, coughing, and sneezing. If I had to cough or sneeze I would actually remove my mask anyway and cough or sneeze into my clothes like I always do; that is just honestly what I would do.

The last time I went to the store for whatever reason I was more out of breath or breathing more with my mask on and my glasses would not stop fogging up. Therefore I kept touching my mask trying to fix it. It wasn’t working and I was just getting tired of not being able to see and so I kept messing with it even more. I can’t even tell you how many times I touched it. Yes I know I could have just not, but regardless I did and therefore I know there were more germs on my hands than if I did not have the mask on. So for that trip to the store that was just what happened. And another thing I always go through the self-checkout as well so minimal contact with people in the checkout line as well. I know some people also have issues with self-checkouts, but that is a different topic. I feel less stressed in the self-checkout because I can bag my reusable bags easier and organize my groceries. But anyway so to be honest that is why I did not wear a mask for a long time because I don’t feel like at the grocery store they are that beneficial.

I realized that it did seem to make others more uncomfortable I think if I didn’t have one on based off of posts I saw. And so that is honestly why we decided to start wearing them.

I also did not want to wear them because I do worry about repercussions in the future of all of this sanitizing things, wearing masks, and minimal contact with others. I very much believe that we build up our immunity by being in contact with germs (there are good germs). Growing up our family was rarely sick and if we were we got over it very quickly and I believe it was because we built up our immunity naturally by various things. But I realized I can control those other things and wearing a mask for an hour or two once a week when I go to the grocery is not going to destroy my immune system. And yes I do think we will begin to see people getting sick more often as this progresses or after it calms down with all of the preventative measures we have taken. Do I have the right answers to find a balance between being cautious with everything and also trying to keep up our immunity…not really? Honestly I think everyone has to decide personally what they are comfortable with, but again that is another reason initially I did not wear a mask, but then I realized it probably wouldn’t affect me that much so yes I am going to wear mask now if it is needed in the environment I am in.

Another thing is I do not think it is wrong for a store to require individuals to wear masks and if you don’t want to wear one than don’t go. You are helping no one by fighting with an employee about wearing a mask.

Now I have seen some posts about a few businesses not allowing people in who are wearing a mask and honestly I think that is wrong. I know they have a right to do that, but to me that is very selfish and unloving and makes you seem like a rude person. You never know what someone is going through health wise, maybe they wore masks before this even happened. So those posts I have seen kind of drive me a little crazy; especially when people are applauding those businesses.

I do believe that there are some people who struggle when wearing a mask and also shouldn’t wear one. But I would say that is probably rare. Also if you have a mask on and for whatever reason are having a difficult time breathing; take it off for a minute, catch your breath. Maybe try a different type of mask that you feel like you can breathe better in.

So anyway if you are still reading this thank you. I just wanted to share some of my thoughts. I think overall we need to be more understanding and open to listening to one another.

Friends we are not the only country being asked to wear masks, if you don’t like wearing one don’t go somewhere that requires one. Please stop thinking that those wearing masks are allowing themselves to be controlled by the government. And also don’t just assume because someone is not wearing a mask that they are unloving, selfish, and don’t care about other people. Please just try to be more understanding, listen to people, and be gracious. This is a difficult time for everyone; it feels like there are literally a million issues going on. Every issue seems to be political. Every issue has a wrong or right side. There is so much misinformation everywhere, contradictory information is everywhere and it is overwhelming. We all need to be better about listening, not always thinking we are completely right about every issue, and honestly we need to be more loving to one another. There are so many things to get angry about, but I do not believe face masks are one of those things.

Leave a comment